Skip to content

Ernst Statement on Federal Disaster Funding for August Iowa Flooding

Today U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA) released a statement after President Obama issued a federal disaster declaration for 8 counties in the State of Iowa, following the severe storms and flooding that occurred in northeast Iowa between August 23 and 27, 2016. This comes on the heels of the Senator's letter of support to the President for a major disaster declaration after Governor Branstad’s request.

“I am pleased that President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for the State of Iowa following the damaging storms and flooding many of our northeast counties experienced in August,” said Senator Ernst. “This will allow these areas to receive the much-needed funds and assistance they need as they work to repair their communities.”

The federal disaster declaration will allow the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to assist Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Mitchell, and Winneshiek Counties through the Public Assistance program, and all areas in Iowa will be eligible for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

# # #