WASHINGTON – Today, the White House announced that President Donald Trump has partially approved Governor Kim Reynolds’ (R-IA) request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for Lee, Marion, Marshall and Van Buren counties. These areas were recently affected by severe storms and tornadoes on July 19, 2018. Senator Ernst issued the following statement:

“I commend Governor Reynolds and her team for their tireless efforts and rapid response in the wake of the recent severe weather. While this is only a partial approval, I am glad to see President Trump approve this disaster declaration and provide Iowa public and non-profit entities with the resources they need to rebuild.”


A Presidential Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs. These funds can be used for repair and replacement of disaster-damaged facilities as well as a number of other things, including loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools. Governor Reynold’s request for federal funding under the Individual Assistance Program is still under review for Marshall and Polk counties.

Click here to read the full declaration from the White House.