WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA), a retired Lieutenant Colonel in the Iowa Army National Guard and member of the Senate Armed Services Committee, today announced U.S. Service Academy nominations for 33 high school seniors from across the state of Iowa.

“As a combat veteran, and mother of a West Point plebe, it’s truly an honor to nominate these qualified Iowa students for admittance to our U.S. Service Academies. Each of these students has exemplified strong leadership, dedication to academics and commitment to community service. This nomination is an important step in the admissions process, and I’m proud to assist these students in reaching their goal of serving our nation in uniform,” said Senator Ernst.

Each year, Senator Ernst nominates Iowa students to the U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Military Academy at West Point and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. To learn more about the service academy nomination process, click here.

Below is a complete list of the students nominated by Senator Ernst for the Class of 2023.

U.S. Air Force Academy:

James Baker – Bettendorf*

Nathan Brush – Clive

Mitchell Clements – North Liberty

Josiah Cole – Altoona

Cory Critchlow – Carlisle

Charles Haefner – Cedar Rapids

Adam Laubenthal – Davenport

Michael McCurry – Cedar Rapids

William Rankin – Hull

Kassidy Rashid – Burlington

Britain Saluri – Des Moines*

Hunter Sherry – Boone

Josiah Stearns – Windsor Heights

Micah Treptau – Lansing

Olivia Wong – Ames

Gabriel Yingst – Woodward


U.S. Naval Academy:

Faith Bonilla – Bettendorf

Daunte Burns – Dyersville

Aiden DeWitt – Dubuque*

Abram Dierickx – Lowden

Alex Hooker – Webster City

Dara Hulstein – Cedar Falls

Will Jefferson – Le Claire*

William Jones – Council Bluffs*

Allison Mitchell – Clinton

Kyle Otte – Clive


U.S. Military Academy at West Point:

James Baker – Bettendorf*

Elias Brehm – Dubuque

Aiden DeWitt – Dubuque*

Jack Gehl – Asbury

Anders Grau – United Kingdom

Grace Greer – Iowa City

Williams Jones – Council Bluffs*

Cole Mabry – Iowa City

Carson Parker – Story City

Grace Ries – Asbury


U.S. Merchant Marine Academy:

Will Jefferson – Le Claire*

Britain Saluri – Des Moines*


*The admissions process to the service academies is highly competitive, and Senator Ernst encourages students to apply for more than one academy. This denotes students who are being nominated for both their first and second choice of service academy.