WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA), a combat veteran and chairman of the Senate Armed Services Subcommittee on Emerging Threats and Capabilities, today announced United States Service Academy nominations for 31 young Iowans from across the state.
“As a company commander who served over 23 years in our nation’s military, and mother of a West Point cadet, I am honored to nominate these Iowa students for admittance to our U.S. Service Academies,” said Senator Ernst. “Each and every one of these outstanding young leaders has demonstrated tremendous skill and commitment to establishing a career in our military. This nomination is an important step in the admissions process, and I’m proud to support these students in their goal of serving our country in uniform.”
Every year, Ernst nominates Iowa students to the U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Military Academy at West Point, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. To learn more about the service academy nomination process, click here.
Below is a complete list of the students nominated by Senator Ernst for the Class of 2025.
United States Air Force Academy
Landon Adkins – Davenport
Rylie Anderson – Bondurant
Chloe David – Granger
Jacob Hrasky – Treynor
Austin Kruzich – Nevada
EmmaKay McClain – Bayard                                                                                                        
Elizabeth Peters – Iowa City*
John Schillinger – North Liberty
Megan Sterbenz – Grimes
Kitty Walden – Sioux City
United States Military Academy
Nicholas Bandy – Dubuque
Sophia Dykstra – Oskaloosa
Noelle Grau – United Kingdom**
Emma Holesinger – Dubuque
Luke Jefferson – Le Claire*
Alexander Meier – Le Mars
Cavan O’Hara – Robins
Anthony Schmitz – Pella
Luke South – Linden
Sam Wilson – Carlisle
United States Merchant Marine Academy
Joshua Davis – Dubuque*
Zayna Dickson – Urbandale                                                                                                           
Samantha Foht – Davenport*
Luke Jefferson – Le Claire*
Elizabeth Peters – Iowa City*
United States Naval Academy
Ashish Abraham – Bettendorf
Julianne Berry-Stoelzle – Iowa City
Joshua Davis – Dubuque*
Samantha Foht – Davenport*
Nathan Ketelsen – Charlotte
Nicholas McGowan – Sioux City
Andrew Riley – Des Moines
Nathan Sell – Council Bluffs
Benjamin Toyne – Victor
Sophia Utsinger – Bettendorf
*The admissions process to the service academies is highly competitive, and Senator Ernst encourages students to apply for more than one academy. This denotes students who are being nominated for both their first and second choice of service academy.
**Originally from West Des Moines