WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA), the first female elected to the U.S. Senate from the State of Iowa and the first female combat veteran elected to the U.S. Senate, joined all of her female Senate colleagues on a measure to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Congress passing the 19th Amendment, which provided women across the country the right to vote.

“Today, as we celebrate the 19th Amendment and what it stands for, we recognize the fearless leaders of the Women’s Suffrage Movement. Countless trailblazers fought tirelessly to pave the path for women in our nation to have the right to vote and reshaped the role of women in our society forever,” said Senator Joni Ernst. “I’m proud to join all of my female Senate colleagues on this bipartisan resolution to honor the bravery and strength of the Suffragettes who led the way for each of us to have a seat at the table today and for generations of women to come.”

The resolution seeks to honor, reaffirm, and preserve the ratification of the 19th Amendment in further promoting the core values of our democracy as promised by the U.S. Constitution. Click here for full text of the resolution.

Resolution highlights:

  • Whereas Congress passed the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, guided by the shared ideals of freedom, sovereignty, democracy, civil liberties, and individual rights.
  • Whereas the introduction, passage, and ultimate ratification of the 19th Amendment were the culmination of decades of work and struggle by advocates for the rights of women across the United States and worldwide.
  • Whereas the ratification of the 19th Amendment ensured women could more fully participate in our democracy and fundamentally changed the role of women in the civic life of our Nation.
  • Now, therefore, be it resolved that the Senate celebrates and reaffirms the desire of Congress to continue strengthening democratic participation and to inspire future generations to cherish and preserve the historic precedent established under the 19th Amendment.

The resolution is cosponsored by Senators Murkowski (R-AK), Baldwin (D-WI), Feinstein (D-CA), Collins (R-ME), Shaheen (D-NH), Capito (R-WV), Blackburn (R-TN), Warren (D-MA), Fischer (R-NE), Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Hirono (D-HI), Murray (D-WA), Cantwell (D-WA), Klobuchar (D-MN), Harris (D-CA), McSally (R-AZ), Stabenow (D-MI), Rosen (D-NV), Cortez Masto (D-NV), Smith (D-MN), Gillibrand (D-NY), Hassan (D-NH), Duckworth (D-IL), and Sinema (D-AZ).